Creative Writing

Administrative Information

Director of Undergraduate Studies: Prof. Heidi Julavits, 617 Kent; 854-3774;

Executive Committee on Undergraduate Creative Writing
Prof. Timothy Donnelly, 415 Dodge; 854-4391;
Prof. Sam Lipsyte (chair), 415 Dodge; 854-4391;
Prof. Alan Ziegler, 415 Dodge; 854-4391;

Margo L. Jefferson
Benjamin Marcus
Mark Strand
Alan Ziegler

Associate Professors
Susan Bernofsky
Stacey D'Erasmo
Heidi Julavits
Timothy Donnelly

Assistant Professors
Dorothea Lasky

Adjunct Professors
Ellis Avery
Priscilla Becker
Amy Benson
Susan Daitch
Ann DeWitt
Elyssa East
Joshua Furst

Adjunct Professors (continued)
Elizabeth Greenwood
Porochista Khakpour
Marie Myung-Ok Lee
Gregory Lichtenberg
Jennifer Miller
Robert Ostrom
Mark Rozzo
Justin Taylor
Justin Torres
Kate Zambreno

Graduate Faculty Fellows
William Brewer
Madeline Felix
Javier Fuentes
Ajla Hodzic
John C. Prioleau
Ryan Smith
Rachel Sur

The Creative Writing Program in The School of the Arts combines intensive writing workshops with seminars that study literature from a writer's perspective. Students develop and hone their literary technique in workshops. The seminars (which explore literary technique and history) broaden their sense of possibility by exposing them to various ways that language has been used to make art. Related courses are drawn from departments such as English, comparative literature and society, philosophy, history, anthropology, among others. Students consult with faculty advisers to determine the related courses that best inform their creative work. The creative writing major is by application only. For details, see the Creative Writing website: