Columbia College

Home / Academics / Fellowships / Finding a Fellowship / Commonwealth Scholarships and Fellowships

Commonwealth Scholarships and Fellowships

varies by participating country
Arts and Humanities
Social Science
British Commonwealth countries
Full Year
2 or More Years


The Commonweatlh Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is an international program in which British Commonwealth member governments offer scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other Commonwealth countries for study in their countries' universities.  In any given year, each individual Commonwealth country decides whether to offer awards, and at what level—traditionally, awards have supported post-baccalaureate study at universities in other Commonwealth countries participating in the plan that year.  Participating countries frequently include Canada, Kenya, New Zealand, and the United Kingdom.

Graduating seniors and recent graduates who are citizens of British Commonwealth countries should check the CSFP website early in the academic year to see which Commonwealth countries are participating and what kinds of scholarships and fellowships they are offering that year. 

Application procedures vary from country to country each year, but deadlines typically fall in early to mid-fall for study in Northern Hemisphere Commonwealth countries beginning in the following academic year.  Selection criteria also vary by program but typically include academic achievement and a compelling plan of study for the designated Commonwealth country and/or university.