A New Butler Banner

Banner hanging on Butler Library


A banner bearing the names of eight female-identifying authors and visionaries — Maya Angelou; Gloria E. Anzaldúa; Diana Chang BC’49; Zora Neale Hurston BC 1928, GSAS 1935; Toni Morrison; A. Revathi; Ntozake Shange; and Leslie Marmon Silko — is now hanging above the names of the male writers on the facade of Butler Library. The banner will be on display through December 16. Learn how the names were selected, about the first female-focused banner (hung in 1989) and more at butlerbanner.com.