Skip navigation

The Core Curriculum

The Conquest of Mexico (Florentine Codex, Book 12)


The Nahuas and Bernardino de Sahagún

1590 CE –

The Florentine Codex, originally entitled Historia general de las cosas de Nueva España (General History of Matters in New Spain), is a bilingual Nahuatl – Spanish encyclopedic text, composed between 1545 and 1590. This vast work documents in 12 books the religion, natural history, cultural practices and first decades of the fall of pre-Columbian Mesoamerica. The last of those books, probably its most famous section, contains an account of the invasion of the Aztec Empire by Hernán Cortés and his troops, ostensibly written from an indigenous point of view.

Related Reading
Contemporary Civilization