Twenty-two seniors to be inducted into Junior Phi Beta Kappa

Thursday, December 10, 2020

Columbia College has announced the names of 22 seniors who will be initiated into Phi Beta Kappa, the national honor society, in the spring. The students were chosen by a faculty selection committee of Phi Beta Kappa members based on the breadth, depth and rigor of their academic programs, as well as recommendations from faculty members who have worked closely with them.

Each year, 10 percent of the Columbia College graduating class is elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Two percent (Junior Phi Beta Kappa) is elected in the fall and the remaining eight percent is elected in the spring.

Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1776 for the pursuit of “friendship, morality, and literature.” It was the first student group to adopt Greek letters, standing for the Greek words philosophies bios kubernetes, or “love of wisdom, the guide of life.” Today, this honor society celebrates and promotes excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. To be inducted into Phi Beta Kappa is one of the highest academic honors for undergraduate students and recognizes their exceptional scholarship.

The Class of 2021 Junior Phi Beta Kappa members are:

Canfer Akbulut

Leopold Aschenbrenner

Collin Burns

Aroosa Cheema

Simon Cohen

Naomi Cruz

Mariya Delyakova

Sophia DiIorio

Andrew Elzayn

Monika Francsics

Jonathan Hirschfeld

Alexander Horn

Jenny Jin

Christine Kim

Zhi Lin

Joel Meyers

Sofia Montrone

Abhishek Shah

Coleman Sherry

Ahmed Sheta

William Tong

Robert Watson

Posted in: