Columbia College

Home / Academics / Academic Honors, Awards, and Prizes / Academic Awards Committee / Past Winners of the Lional Trilling Book Award

Past Winners of the Lional Trilling Book Award

1976 - Edward W. Said (English and Comparative Lit.), Beginnings
1977 - Fritz Stern (History), Gold and Iron: Bismark, Bleichroder, and the Building of the German Empire
1978 - Morton Smith (History), Jesus the Magician
1980 - Istvan Deak (History), The Lawful Revolution: Louis Kossuth and the Hungarians, 1848-1849
1981 - Peter Pouncey (Classics), Necessities of War: A Study of Thucydides’ Pessimism 
1982 - Arthur C. Danto (Philosophy), The Transfiguration of the Commonplace
1983 - Wm. Theodore deBary (EALAC), Neo-Confucian Orthodoxy and the Learning of the Mind-and-Heart
1984 - W.T.H. Jackson (German, posthumous), The Hero and the King: An Epic Theme
1987 - Carol Gluck (History), Japan’s Modern Myths
1988 - Robert Murphy (Anthropology), The Body Silent
1989 - Eric Foner (History), Reconstruction: America’s Unfinished Revolution 1863-1877
1990 - Andrew Delbanco (English and Comparative Lit.), The Puritan Ordeal
1991 - David Cannadine (History), The Decline and Fall of the British Aristocracy
1992 - Caroline Walker Bynum (History), Fragmentation and Redemption: Essays on Gender and the Human Body in Medieval Religion
1993 - Karl Kroeber (English and Comparative Lit.), Retelling: Rereading the Fate of Storytelling in Modern Times
1994 - Edward W. Said (English and Comparative Lit.), Culture and Imperialism
         - Diana Trilling (special award), The Beginning of the Journey; The Marriage of Lionel and Diana Trilling
1995 - Robert Pollack (Biology), Signs of Life: The Language and Meanings of DNA
1996 - Ann Douglas (English and Comparative Lit.), Terrible Honesty: The Mongrelization of Manhattan in the 20s
         - Simon Schama (History), Landscape and Memory
1997 - Ira Katznelson (History), Working Class Formation
1998 - Robert Jervis (Political Science), System Effects: Complexity in Political and Social Life
1999 - Robert Lieberman (Political Science), Shifting the Color Line: Race and the American Welfare State
2000 - Hamid Dabashi (MEALAC), Truth and Narrative.  The Untimely Thoughts of 'Ayn al-Qudat al Hamadhan.
          - Brian Greene (Mathematics), The Elegant Universe
2001 – Jonathan Crary (Art History), Suspension or Perception: Attention, Spectacle, and Modern Culture
2002 – Nicholas B Dirks (Anthropology) Castes of Mind: Colonialism and the Making of Modern India
2003 – William V. Harris (History) Restraining Rage: The Ideology of Anger Control in Classical Antiquity
2004 – Philip Kitcher (Philosophy) In Mendel's Mirror: Philosophical Reflections on Biology
2005 – Alan D.E. Cameron (Classics) Greek Mythography in the Roman World
2006 – Andrew Delbanco (English) Melville: His World and Work
2007 – Sheldon Pollock (MEALAC) The Language of the Gods in the World of Men: Sanskrit, Culture and Power in Premodern India
2008 – Joseph Massad (MEALAC) Desiring Arabs
2009 – Mark Mazower (History) Hitler’s Empire: How the Nazis Ruled Europe
2010 – Katharina Volk (Classics) Manilius and His Intellectual Background.
2011 – James Shapiro (English & Comparative Literature) Contested Will: Who Wrote Shakespeare?
2012 - David Lurie (EALAC) Realms of Literacy: Early Japan and the History of Writing
2013 - Boris Gasparov (Slavic Languages) Beyond Pure Reason: Ferdinand de Saussure’s Philosophy of Language and Its Early Romantic Antecedents
2014 - Rashid Khalidi (History) Brokers of Deceit: How the U.S. has Undermined Peace in the Middle East 
2015 -  Zainab Bahrani (Art History and Archaeology) The Infinite Image: Art, Time and the Aesthetic Dimension in Antiquity
2016 - Susan Pedersen (History) The Guardians: The League of Nations and the Crisis of the Empire