Home / News & Updates / 22 students to be inducted into Junior Phi Beta Kappa

22 students to be inducted into Junior Phi Beta Kappa

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Columbia College’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter will welcome 22 new members on January 31 in an initiation ceremony to be attended by parents, faculty and friends. The 22 students have been chosen by a faculty selection committee of Phi Beta Kappa members based on the breadth, depth and rigor of their academic programs, as well as recommendations from faculty members who have worked closely with them. 

Each year, 10 percent of the Columbia College graduating class is elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Two percent (Junior Phi Beta Kappa) is elected in the fall and the remaining eight percent is elected in the spring. 

Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1776 for the pursuit of “friendship, morality, and literature.” It was the first student group to adopt Greek letters, standing for the Greek words philosophies bios kubernetes, or “love of wisdom, the guide of life.” Today, this honor society celebrates and promotes excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. To be inducted into Phi Beta Kappa is one of the highest academic honors for undergraduate students and recognizes their exceptional scholarship.


The Class of 2014 Junior Phi Beta Kappa members are:

Michael Attal
Ari Berg
Corey Dansereau
Margarete Diaz Cuadros
Nicole Dussault
Alyssa Ehrlich
Evelyn Jagoda
Samuel Kazer
Megan McCreadie
Evan Munro
Andrew Pinelli
Amalia Rinehart
Victoria Robson
Roko Rumora
Amit Saha
Yuma Shinohara
Abigail Struhl
Norman Toy
Samuel Walker
Ling Feng Ye
Sicong Zhang
Lisa Zhou