Home / News & Updates / Five alumni to receive John Jay Awards for professional achievement

Five alumni to receive John Jay Awards for professional achievement

Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Five accomplished alumni will be presented with 2016 John Jay Awards for distinguished professional achievement at the annual John Jay Awards Dinner on Thursday, March 10, 2016.


The 2016 Honorees are: 

Jonathan C. Abbott CC’84, president and CEO, WGBH
Julius Genachowski CC’85, managing director, The Carlyle Group and former chairman, Federal Communications Commission
Jeffrey Kessler CC’75, LAW’77, co-chairman, Winston & Strawn, and chair, antitrust and sports law practices
John Vaske CC’88, co-chairman of global mergers and acquisitions, Goldman Sachs & Co. 
Sheena Wright CC’90, LAW’94, president and CEO, United Way of New York City

The John Jay Dinner raises money for The John Jay National Scholars Program, which provides financial support and special programming to enhance the academic and extracurricular experiences of outstanding students. John Jay Scholars distinguish themselves through the originality and independence of their thinking and their rich and varied record of accomplishments.

This special academic enhancement program is centered around panels, discussions and presentations by leading professors, professionals and individuals from a variety of fields, along with special research opportunities. The program is designed to promote intellectual growth, leadership development and global awareness; to extend and enhance previous academic and extracurricular experiences; and to motivate students to make a difference in the world.

The John Jay Dinner has honored more than 200 alumni, parents and friends since 1978. This year will mark the 38th annual John Jay Dinner. 

More information:
2016 John Jay Awards Dinner
Past Recipients of the John Jay Award
2015 John Jay Dinner Photos
2014 John Jay Dinner Photos



Posted in: