Home / News & Updates / Seniors inducted into Phi Beta Kappa

Seniors inducted into Phi Beta Kappa

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Columbia College initiated 95 seniors into Phi Beta Kappa, the national honor society, on Tuesday, May 21, 2013. The students were chosen by a faculty selection committee of Phi Beta Kappa members based on the breadth, depth and rigor of their academic programs, as well as recommendations from faculty members who have worked closely them.

Each year, 10 percent of students in the Columbia College graduating class are elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Two percent is elected in the fall and the remaining eight percent is elected in the spring.

The students and their guests were welcomed by Hazel May, Senior Associate Dean of Academic Affairs. Dean of Columbia College James J. Valentini spoke to the inductees and Associate Professor of English Marcellus Blount, President of Columbia’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter, gave a keynote address.

Phi Beta Kappa celebrates and advocates excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. Members receive a distinctive gold key, which symbolizes the core principles of Phi Beta Kappa – freedom of inquiry and liberty of thought and expression.

The Class of 2013 Phi Beta Kappa members are:

Mary Allen
Janine Balekdjian
Timothy Barker
David Baruch
Celia Bell
Catherine Bentivoglio
Ravi Bhalla
Julie Bodenmann
Andy Bowers
Claudia Brodsky
Steven Castellano
Alice Chang
Dorothy Chen
Monica Chen
Po Linn Chia
Gyu Won Choi
Declan Conroy
Michelle Conway
Lauren DeMaria
Schuyler Dickey
Sanford Diehl
Mary Escherich
Dafna Feith
Harrison Flager
Adam Formica
Ze’ev Gebler
John Greene
Leah Greenstein
Ridhima Guniganti
Nico Gurian
Amanda Gutterman
Cecilia Hackerson
Asher Hecht-Bernstein
Allison Heimann
Andrew Heinrich
Sherilyn Hellberg
Alexzander Hudson
Elizabeth Jacob
Mary Kircher
Yoshiaki Ko
Tucker Kuman
James Laird
Diana Lee
Sarah Lee
Michael Li
Siran Li
Ethan Lowenthal
Albert Lui
Devan Luster
Allison Malecha
Dan Margulies
Ian Marsanyi
Grace McCarty
Christopher McGinn
Alexander Mendez
Emma Meyers
Laura Milmed
Jonathan Moed
Julia Monk
Kelsey Musselman
Daniel Natkie
Susan Ou
Silvia Park
Sung Chul Park
Dean Perfetti
Steven Pfau
Elizabeth Power
Tzipora Quint
Soo Hyun Rhee
Giancarlo Roma
Sara Rosenberg
Christopher Ruenes
Mila Rusafova
Grace Rybak
Ehsan Sadeghi
Stephanie Sarbanes
Matthew Schelke
Charles Shafaieh
Ian Shirley
Sharon Shum
Gabriela Siegel
Alexander Simmonds
Rui Su
Joshua Tobin
Noelle Van Rysselberghe
Nicholas Warther
Lewis West
Lindsay White
Patrick Woolsey
Sharon Wu
Shuang Xu
Karina Yu
Samuel Zakay
Helen Zhang

The Class of 2012 Phi Beta Kappa members are:

Lorna Zhang Anoushka Vaswani
Qiurui Wang  

Click here to view photos from the event. 

Posted in: