Home / News & Updates / Twenty-four seniors to be initiated into Junior Phi Beta Kappa

Twenty-four seniors to be initiated into Junior Phi Beta Kappa

Friday, December 8, 2017

Columbia College has announced the names of 24 seniors who will be initiated into Phi Beta Kappa, the national honor society, on Friday, January 19. The students were chosen by a faculty selection committee of Phi Beta Kappa members based on the breadth, depth and rigor of their academic programs, as well as recommendations from faculty members who have worked closely with them.

Each year, 10 percent of the Columbia College graduating class is elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Two percent (Junior Phi Beta Kappa) is elected in the fall and the remaining eight percent is elected in the spring.

Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1776 for the pursuit of “friendship, morality, and literature.” It was the first student group to adopt Greek letters, standing for the Greek words philosophies bios kubernetes, or “love of wisdom, the guide of life.” Today, this honor society celebrates and promotes excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. To be inducted into Phi Beta Kappa is one of the highest academic honors for undergraduate students and recognizes their exceptional scholarship.

The Class of 2018 Junior Phi Beta Kappa members are:

Andrew Arditi
Michael Argenziano
Hannah Bender
China Braekman
Caroline Chen
Theo Coyne
Edward Crouse
Isaiah Feldman-Schwartz
Brianne Felsher
Samantha Goldberg
Adil Hussain
Taronish Irani
Sanchit Jain
Dorothy Janick
Guillermo Carranza Jordan
Nathan Katkin
Craig Nielsen
Daniel Reuter
Simona Sarafinovska
Jill Shah
Abigail Sharkey
Rachel Sommers
Caroline Yang
Jenny Yoo

Posted in: