Home / News & Updates / Ninety-two seniors to be initiated into Phi Beta Kappa

Ninety-two seniors to be initiated into Phi Beta Kappa

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Columbia College has announced the names of 92 seniors who will be initiated into Phi Beta Kappa, the national honor society, on Tuesday, May 15. The students were chosen by a faculty selection committee of Phi Beta Kappa members based on the breadth, depth and rigor of their academic programs, as well as recommendations from faculty members who have worked closely them.

Each year, 10 percent of the Columbia College graduating class is elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Two percent (Junior Phi Beta Kappa) is elected in the fall and the remaining eight percent is elected in the spring.

Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1776 for the pursuit of “friendship, morality, and literature.” It was the first student group to adopt Greek letters, standing for the Greek words philosophies bios kubernetes, or “love of wisdom, the guide of life.” Today, this honor society celebrates and promotes excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. To be inducted into Phi Beta Kappa is one of the highest academic honors for undergraduate students and recognizes their exceptional scholarship.

The Class of 2018's newest Phi Beta Kappa members are:

Ariana Agrios
Shyamolie Biyani
Po Bodin
Katya Bookchin
Grace Brancale
Sophie Bridges
John Butler
Stephanie Cajigas
Josue Chavez
Alexander Chen
Maleeha Chida
Jeanne Chouchana
Tze Chen Chun
Lindsey Cohen
Caitlin Connolly
Colin Conroy
Benjamin Covington
Henry Doran
Benjamin Dubow
Adam Elkhadem
Juan Ellis Ochoa
Tiffany Fang
Alexandra Fay
Dore Feith
Maxwell Fineman
Natalie Gaisser
Jordan Goodson
Kaatje Greenberg
Jennifer Gu
Elizabeth Gunawan
Yuan He
Samuel Henick
John Hui
Peter Kalicki
Bryan Kao
Thomas Kicak
Bryan Kim
Jennie Kim
Samantha Klitzman
Pak Kin Lai
Kabir Laroia
Emily Lavine
Benjamin LaZebnik
Stephen Leong
Anne Li
Rui Li
Tony Li
Danny Li
Michele Lin
Thomas Luh
Laura MacMullin
Matthew Malone
Namit Mehta
Alexander Meshel
Noah Miller
Chang Moon
Michael Moore
Kelvin Ng
Hung Nguyen
Thomas Nielsen
Sarah Park
Yeji Park
Tatiana Petelina
David Quintas
Julien Reiman
Emanuelle Rizk
Max Rosenberg
Eugenia Sanchez
Alicia Schleifman
Julia Schluger
Christopher Schroer
Robert Sheardown
Goldie Shen
Sidarth Singh
Tanveer Singh
Srishti Sinha
Ricardo Suniga Barajas
Benjamin Swanson
Margaret Toner
Tiffany Troy
Mitchell Tuckerman
Jia Wan
Boya Wang
Alaina Wibberly
Megan Wicks
Julius Wilson
Talmage Wise
Emily Yeh
Alexander Yu
Cristian Zaharia
Keming Zhang
Mimi Zimmer

Posted in: