Displaying 581 - 590 of 772 news stories
Friday, March 30, 2012

Three Columbia College juniors are among the 282 winners of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships announced this week. Woo Chang Chung ’13, Adam Formica ’13 and Katharina Shaw ’13 each will receive up to $7,500 toward the cost of their tuition and other college fees from their senior years.

Friday, March 30, 2012

Five more Columbia students and alumni have been awarded Fulbright Scholarships, bringing the school’s total count of winners of the international prize this year to seven.

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Earlier this month, a new publication hit Columbia's campus.  Columbia Class Notes, a student-run publication on academic affairs at Columbia, published its first edition on March 19, 2012.  The journal aims to provide an open forum for students, faculty, and administrators to constructively discuss undergraduate education at Columbia. 

Monday, March 19, 2012

Emily Tamkin ’12 and Cristian Gonzalez ’10 will study in Germany next year as Fulbright Scholarship winners. 

Thursday, March 8, 2012

On March 7, five accomplished alumni were presented with 2012 John Jay Awards for distinguished professional achievement at the John Jay Awards Dinner, an annual black-tie event, held this year at Cipriani 42nd Street. The honorees were Dede Gardner ’90, Ellen Gustafson ’02, Ben Horowitz ’88, Daniel S. Loeb ’83 and Li Lu ’96, ’96L, ’96 Business.

Thursday, March 1, 2012

John R. (Rick) MacArthur, president and publisher of Harper’s Magazine, will speak at Columbia College Class Day 2012. The award-winning journalist and author earned a bachelor's degree in history from the College in 1978. 

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Gerald Sherwin ’55, one of the College’s most active alumni and a marketing consultant, and Joe Brown ’66, a senior project consultant at Noviant Advanced Information Solutions, were honored at the annual Black Alumni Council Heritage Reception on February 21 at Columbia University Club of New York. 

Monday, February 20, 2012

Columbia College initiated 22 seniors into Phi Beta Kappa, the national honor society, on Friday, February 17. 

Friday, February 17, 2012

Columbia University President Lee C. Bollinger has appointed John H. Coatsworth, Dean of the School of International and Public Affairs, as Provost of Columbia University. Coatsworth is a leading scholar of Latin American economic and international history. He has served as interim University Provost since July 2011. 

Monday, February 13, 2012

Andrew Delbanco, the Julian Clarence Levi Professor in the Humanities and director of the Center for American Studies, received the 2011 National Humanities Medal from President Barack Obama ’83 in a ceremony in the East Room of the White House on February 13.


Search News