Home / News & Updates / Seniors to be initiated into Phi Beta Kappa

Seniors to be initiated into Phi Beta Kappa

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Columbia College has announced the names of 95 seniors who will be initiated into Phi Beta Kappa, the national honor society, on May 21. The students were chosen by a faculty selection committee of Phi Beta Kappa members based on the breadth, depth and rigor of their academic programs, as well as recommendations from faculty members who have worked closely them. 

Each year, 10 percent of the Columbia College graduating class is elected to membership in Phi Beta Kappa. Two percent is elected in the fall and the remaining eight percent is elected in the spring. 

Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1777 for the pursuit of “friendship, morality, and literature.” It was the first student group to adopt  Greek letters, standing for the Greek words philosophies bios kubernetes, or “love of wisdom, the guide of life.” Today, this honor society celebrates and promotes excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. To be inducted into Phi Beta Kappa is one of the highest academic honors for undergraduate students and recognizes their exceptional scholarship.

The Class of 2013 Phi Beta Kappa members are:

Mary Allen
Janine Balekdjian
Timothy Barker
David Baruch
Celia Bell
Catherine Bentivoglio
Ravi Bhalla
Julie Bodenmann
Andy Bowers
Claudia Brodsky
Steven Castellano
Alice Chang
Dorothy Chen
Monica Chen
Po Linn Chia
Gyu Won Choi
Declan Conroy
Michelle Conway
Lauren DeMaria
Schuyler Dickey
Sanford Diehl
Mary Escherich
Dafna Feith
Harrison Flager
Adam Formica
Ze'ev Gebler
John Greene
Leah Greenstein
Ridhima Guniganti
Nico Gurian
Amanda Gutterman
Cecilia Hackerson
Asher Hecht-Bernstein
Allison Heimann
Andrew Heinrich
Sherilyn Hellberg
Alexzander Hudson
Elizabeth Jacob
Mary Kircher
Yoshiaki Ko
Tucker Kuman
James Laird
Diana Lee
Sarah Lee
Michael Li
Siran Li
Ethan Lowenthal
Albert Lui
Devan Luster
Allison Malecha
Dan Margulies
Ian Marsanyi
Grace McCarty
Christopher McGinn
Alexander Mendez
Emma Meyers
Laura Milmed
Jonathan Moed
Julia Monk
Kelsey Musselman
Daniel Natkie
Susan Ou
Silvia Park
Sung Chul Park
Dean Perfetti
Steven Pfau
Elizabeth Power
Tzipora Quint
Soo Hyun Rhee
Giancarlo Roma
Sara Rosenberg
Christopher Ruenes
Mila Rusafova
Grace Rybak
Ehsan Sadeghi
Stephanie Sarbanes
Matthew Schelke
Charles Shafaieh
Ian Shirley
Sharon Shum
Gabriela Siegel
Alexander Simmonds
Rui Su
Joshua Tobin
Noelle Van Rysselberghe
Nicholas Warther
Lewis West
Lindsay White
Patrick Woolsey
Sharon Wu
Shuang Xu
Karina Yu
Samuel Zakay
Helen Zhang
Lorna Zhang