Lion Legends

Chichi Ikwuazom ’20

Chichi Ikwuazom ’20 notched 14 kills in volleyball’s win over St. Francis College on September 14.

Mike McLaughlin / Columbia Athletics

Columbia will celebrate its latest cohort of all-time athletic achievers with admission to the Columbia University Athletics Hall of Fame.

The 2018 class comprises 17 individuals — 15 former student-athletes and two longtime staff members — and four teams representing 14 sports programs and seven schools across the University. Honorees are slated to be recognized at a black-tie dinner and induction ceremony in Low Library on October 18.

Founded in 2006, the hall of fame welcomes a new class biannually. This year’s honorees include two key members of the 1968 Ivy League champion men’s basketball team, Heyward Dotson ’70, LAW’76 and David Newmark ’68. Dotson was a three-time All-Ivy League selection before being awarded a Rhodes Scholarship to Oxford. Newmark, a
7' center, averaged 19.9 points per game as a Lion and played in the NBA for the Chicago Bulls and Atlanta Hawks.

Coinciding with the 35th anniversary of the Columbia-Barnard Consortium — which enabled students of both schools to compete on the same teams — the 1985–86 women’s basketball squad will also be honored; the team distinguished itself by going 21–6 and earning a bid to the NCAA Division III Tournament.

Other members of the new class include Harry A. Fisher, the first head coach in the men’s basketball program; Dr. Barton Nisonson ’62, PS’66, the 1962 NCAA sabre champion who became the orthopedic surgeon for the Jets and the Rangers; and longtime administrator Ken Torrey, who was instrumental in the start of Columbia’s varsity squash programs.

For a complete list of honorees, visit