Leadership News

Mary C. Boyce will become the next University provost, effective July 1, President Lee C. Bollinger announced in December. Boyce has been dean of Columbia Engineering for seven years. “We are, indeed, fortunate to have someone with Dean Boyce’s combination of administrative capacity, academic accomplishment and deep knowledge of Columbia to assume this role, which is always so critical to the University’s future but is especially so at this remarkable moment,” Bollinger said.

Meanwhile, the University president’s own tenure has been extended; his term will now last until the close of the 2023 academic year. The Board of Trustees also has a new member: Shirley Wang BUS’93, founder and CEO of fiberglass door company Plastpro.