Columbia College Alumni Association

Close Search

You are here

John Jay Dinner

2022 John Jay Awards Dinner

Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Scheduled for March 2, 2022
Cipriani 42nd Street
110 East 42nd Street
New York, NY 10017
This event has passed. See the Events Calendar for upcoming events.


COVID-19 Update

Due to the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic, the March 2020 awards dinner was postponed to provide for the health and safety of the community. Columbia College and the Columbia College Alumni Association are delighted to announce that the dinner has now been rescheduled for March 2, 2022. We are grateful to the six honorees and all dinner supporters for their patience and grace during this necessary pause.

We continue to follow guidance from the CDC and New York State Department of Health, as well as consult with the University President’s COVID-19 Task Force regarding all planned in-person events. Proof of vaccination (including boosters) and symptom attestation will be required for all attendees, in accordance with University guidelines, the Key to NYC initiative, and as dictated by the venue. Any additional updates or changes to our plans for holding the John Jay Dinner on March 2 will be communicated in a timely manner.

This community celebration is a treasured Columbia College tradition and we are committed to upholding it. We are working to explore options for holding the dinner in the future and will share updates as we have them. If you have questions in the meantime, feel free to contact us.

The John Jay Awards Dinner

The John Jay Awards have been presented to 220 honorees since 1978, and the dinner raises scholarship and support money for the John Jay National Scholars Program. The annual gala is held at the iconic Cipriani 42nd Street location and brings together almost 500 attendees each year.

The 2020 John Jay Award Honorees

To be honored March 2, 2022.

Dinner Chairs

  • Kyra Tirana Barry CC’87
    Lisa L. Carnoy CC89
    Eric H. Holder, Jr. CC’73, LAW’76
    Jonathan S. Lavine CC’88

Dinner Committee

  • Michael Behringer CC'89
  • Abigail Black Elbaum CC'92, BUS'94
    Leslie Gittess Brodsky CC'88
  • Frank Seminara CC'89
    Kaivan Shakib CC'89

Selection Committee

  • Kyra Tirana Barry CC’87
  • Michael Behringer CC’89
  • Steve Coleman CC’83
  • Wah Chen CC’92
  • Geoffrey Colvin CC’74
  • Alan Freeman CC’93
  • Leslie Gittess Brodsky CC’88
  • David Javdan CC’90
  • Scott Koonin CC’02
  • Brian Krisberg CC’81
  • Ted Schweitzer CC’91
  • Doug Wolf CC’88
Portrait of John Jay by Gilbert Stuart

John Jay Scholars Program

The John Jay Scholars Program is named after Founding Father, John Jay CC 1764, a student of classics and the law and a leading proponent of the principles of the American Constitution. This award program provides financial aid and special programming to enhance the academic and extracurricular experiences of outstanding students.

Learn More
Share This Page
Photo from John Jay Awards Dinner
John Jay Awards

The John Jay Awards honor alumni for distinguished professional achievement.

Learn More

decorative icon for question_mark
Contact Us

For questions, please contact College Events at 212-851-7834 or